Playing on My Strengths and Passions

It’s been a few weeks since I have written about my journey of starting my business as a Virtual Assistant.  I have been busy putting together the plans and tools of getting started while, at the same time, working on projects subcontracted from other VA’s.  I guess you can say I have been “getting my feet wet” in figuring out my niche and focusing on how my strengths and passions will fall into my business plan, because if there is one thing I have learned and previously state is that if you love your work, it is not work at all.

Along this journey, I have learned some new things about myself and have reevaluated some things I already knew:

One – I am a research geek.  I love for someone to give me a topic and just go to town on finding everything that I can about it.  This love has always been in me (I used to sit and read dictionaries and encyclopedias as a kid.  Yes, I was, and still am, a geek!) but the skill was honed while working at my University’s library where I assisted professors in researching information for their various papers, theses, texts, etc.  Additionally, as a laboratory project coordinator, I was consistently keeping track of updated information pertinent to our field.

Two – I like to write, proofread, and edit.  Writing has always been something I loved to do, but editing only came to me in the past few years.  While working at the laboratory, I was asked to proofread and edit marketing materials and website content before publishing.  I found I really enjoyed doing this and had a skill for it.

Three – Social Media – Now this is one on the list of “New Thing I Have Learned About Myself” since it is a relatively new outlet for me.  I consider myself a social person and love to interact with people so avenues such as Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn are a fantastic way to network, socialize, and engage.

Fitting these three passions into my business plan, along with my strengths in basic administrative tasks and customer relations, will, undoubtedly, make for successful venture.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Playing on My Strengths and Passions”

  1. Michelle Mangen Says:

    Diane:

    I didn’t know you had a blog until I saw your Tweet today.

    You will become a great Virtual Assistant. I appreciate all of the times you have helped me out with projects I have given you.

    You are certainly on the right path…focus on your passions and your strengths and success and personal fulfillment will be a natural result of that!

    I am so happy to know you and have you as part of my circle of friends!

    Michelle Mangen
    @mmangen
    Owner, Your Virtual Assistant

    • primoassistance Says:

      Thank you for the gracious comment, Michelle.

      I am grateful that you thought of me when needing help with your projects. Having VA’s like you and Dawn in my corner is the most valuable asset to a newcomer like me.

      I, too, am happy to call you my friend!

      Diane

  2. Dawn Says:

    And I know I am late responding!

    You are so ahead of the game and congrats to you for registering your business this week! Primo Assistance is now as real as it is going to get 🙂

    Great post, you are awesome with your research and are a big life saver for both me and @CASAssetMgmnt

Leave a Reply

